Founder's Dinner - Awards

The Jackson E. Spears Community Service Award

The Jackson E. Spears Community Service Award is bestowed upon those individuals and organizations that have demonstrated exceptional service and commitment to our communities.

It was created in 2000 to honor Jackson E. Spears, who served as a member of New York Medical College’s Board of Trustees for sixty years, from 1943 to 2003. Loyal, steadfast, sharp-witted, selfless, practical, wise, and relentless in his promotion of the College and its mission, Mr. Spears was a member of virtually every board committee during his tenure, frequently serving as chairman. He served as vice chairman of the Board from 1956 to 1964 and chairman from 1965 to 1970, and he was appointed acting president of the College twice. He also provided pivotal leadership in the decision to relocate the College from New York City to Valhalla in the early 1970s.

A native of Dallas, Texas, Mr. Spears was a corporate executive in the textile industry until his retirement from Burlington Industries as a vice president in 1961. Throughout his career he was also active in civic and community service. New York Medical College awarded Mr. Spears the first William Cullen Bryant medal and the Distinguished Service Award as well as honorary Doctor of Humane Letters and Doctor of Science degrees. The College continues to mourn the loss of this valuable member of our community, who passed away in 2003.

Click here to see previous Jackson E. Spears Community Service Award recipients

  • Ira D. Glick, M.D. '61
  • Judith M. Watson, R.N., B.S.N., M.P.H. '07
  • Ira Schwartz, Ph.D.
  • Ronald F. Poe, M.D.
  • Ansley Bacon, Ph.D.
  • Andrew Ordon, M.D., G.M.E. '85
  • Dan K. Morhaim M.D. '75
  • Michael D. Israel
  • William M. Mooney, Jr.
  • Michael C. Caldwell, M.D., M.P.H.
  • Sister Virginia Hanrahan, O.P.
  • Eugene F. Conroy
  • The Journal News
  • American Heart Association
  • Sister Mary Linehan, S.C., F.A.C.H.E.
  • Max Gomez, Ph.D.

The Alfred B. DelBello Distinguished Service Award

New York Medical College proudly bestows the Alfred B. DelBello Distinguished Service Award upon those members of its faculty, staff, administration, and voluntary leadership who have helped advance the College’s mission of education and research through their service, commitment and expert ability. In addition, the Distinguished Service Award honors individuals whose careers and contributions to health care, science, and our communities have profoundly impacted the practice of medicine and have added immeasurable prestige to the College.

Click here to see previous Alfred B. DelBello Distinguished Service Award recipients

  • NYC Health + Hospitals/Metropolitan
  • Jean Marie Malecki, M.D. '79, M.P.H., FACPM
  • Felix Wimpfheimer, M.D. '45
  • Dr. Mark Hasten
  • David E. Asprinio, M.D.
  • Bijan Safai, M.D., D.Sc.
  • Richard Stone, M.D. ‘68
  • Norman Levine, Ph.D.
  • The Alumni Association of New York Medical College and its Past and Present Presidents
  • Susan A. Kline, M.D.
  • Gabor Kaley, Ph.D.
  • Saverio S. Bentivegna, M.D. ‘50, F.A.C.S.
  • Gerard D. Robilotti
  • Joseph T. English, M.D.
  • Louis E. Fierro, M.D. ‘60
  • James T. Mazzara, M.D. ‘63
  • Felicien M. Steichen, M.D.
  • Alvin I. Goodman, M.D.
  • William S. Rosenthal, M.D.
  • Louis R. M. Del Guercio, M.D.
  • Charles E. Ford, Ed.D.
  • Jackson E. Spears
  • Isidore Danishefsky, Ph.D.
  • Carmel Magner, R.N.
  • Joseph F. Goeller-Giattini, M.D.
  • Victor Tchertkoff, M.D. ‘43
  • James H. Keller
  • Edward Wasserman, M.D. ‘46
  • Rita Girolamo, M.D. ‘51
  • Joseph G. Robbins
  • Dante V. Bizzarri, M.D. ‘42
  • Joseph F. Dursi, M.D. ‘59
  • Samuel H. Rubin, M.D.
  • Robert Goldstein, M.D.
  • Eileen Halsey Pike, Ph.D.

The William Cullen Bryant Award

New York Medical College established the William Cullen Bryant Award in 1983 to recognize those remarkable individuals who, in the tradition of the College’s founder, William Cullen Bryant, demonstrate seminal leadership in health care, science, education, business, or the arts. Bryant, the son of a physician, was an editor, philosopher, poet, lawyer, and dynamic civic leader who substantively influenced the issues of his day through the power of his pen. During the second half of the 19th century, he led a select group of influential individuals in creating New York Medical College, which today has become one of the nation’s largest private health sciences universities. Bryant subsequently served as president of the College’s Board of Trustees for more than a decade. The qualities of distinguished and broad leadership that Bryant demonstrated have been characteristic of all William Cullen Bryant medal awardees.

Click here to see previous William Cullen Bryant Award recipients

  • Ronald L. Arenson, M.D. '70
  • Robert A. Barish, M.D. '79, M.B.A.
  • William C. Campbell, Ph.D.
  • Robert J. Lifton, M.D. '48
  • John C. Duffy, M.D. ‘60
  • Joanne Kurtzberg M.D. ‘76
  • Nicholas F. LaRusso, M.D. ‘69
  • Karl P. Adler, M.D.
  • Ralph A. O’Connell, M.D.
  • Saverio S. Bentivegna, M.D. ‘50
  • Thomas E. Hales
  • Edward Cardinal Egan
  • Albert Willner, M.D. ‘43
  • Richard J. Bellucci, M.D.
  • Brenda and John Fareri
  • Kenneth E. Raske
  • Gerald W. Cunningham
  • George K. Cooney
  • George J. Ames
  • John K. Castle
  • Michel David-Weill
  • Delbert Staley
  • Patricia Mosbacher
  • Rawleigh Warner
  • William E. Ellinghaus
  • Jackson E. Spears

The Distinguished Service and Leadership Award

Awarded for years of dedication and service to NYMC students, faculty and staff.

Click here to see previous Distinguished Service and Leadership Award recipients

  • Brij M. Singh Ahluwalia, M.D.
  • Chitti R. Moorthy, M.D.

The Israel S. Kleiner Award

Click here to see previous Israel S. Kleiner Award recipients

  • Joseph and Penina Popack